Little or Much

HerzliyaIsrael_ROW13835633274_1366x768

Each generation raises the contentment bar, it seems. With every new technological advance, we seem to need more and more things to be satisfied.

The standards for contentment, though, know no calendar. The 21st century will bring all kinds of marvels to our world, but it won’t bring a better definition for contentment than the 2,000-year-old words of the apostle Paul. He said, “I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content … Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry … I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (Philippian 4:11-13).

The secret of contentment is found in Christ – not in man’s inventions, creature comforts, techno-toys, wealth, or amusement. It’s accepting what God has given us, and by His strength making the most of it. As 19th-century author Maltbie Babcock said, “Contentment … is the grateful, faithful use of what we have, little or much.” – Dave Branon

All that I need He will always be,

All that I need till His face I see;

All that I need through eternity,

Jesus is all I need. – Rowe

Most of us are not content with our lot because we want a lot more. – Our Daily Bread, October 8, Vol. 18

 

Leave a Reply

