“I’m Never Lucky!” (Ephesians 1:11)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On one occasion as a young man I was very happy about a blessing the Lord had given me. Without thinking, I exclaimed, “Boy, was I ever lucky!” Hearing this, a brother in Christ rebuked me with three small words I’ve never forgotten. He said, “I’m never lucky!” He meant that everything comes to us from God, even as Paul said in his famous sermon on Mars Hill (Acts 17:25), I quickly realized how out of character my remark had sounded.

We so easily fall into the jargon of the world, for we constantly rub elbows with the unsaved and we are influenced by their thinking. The Scriptures clearly teach that blessings are not the result of chance, but that every good gift and every perfect gift comes from above (James 1:17). We should be especially careful, therefore, to give our Heavenly Father the glory for all the kindness He showers upon us. Our lives are in His hands. Every joy that delights our hearts has been planned by Him who directs “all things after the counsel of His own will.” He withholds nothing from us that is truly desirable, and even works for our eternal good through things that appear disastrous.

Although we may not mean to dishonor the Lord or deny His loving providence when we use words like “chance” and “luck,” we are actually giving the impression that His many benefits are the result of a blind but pleasant fate. As Christians, we should always say, “Isn’t the Lord good!”

Personally, I’m never lucky, but I am divinely blest! – Henry G. Bosch

Some people say, “I’m lucky”;

But “chance” does not exist.

Our Lord controls the universe –

By Him all things consist. – H. G. Bosch

What the unbeliever calls GOOD LUCK the believer calls GOD’S LOVE.

  • May 12, 1984, Our Daily Bread
Leave a Reply

