The Best Age (Psalm 92:14)

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Many people dread the thought of growing old. This is understandable. The passing years do bring a decline of physical strength and endurance, and in some cases serious illness. Yet elderly people have advantages that young don’t enjoy. In fact, the “sunset years” can be the most fulfilling of all.

Author Henry Durbanville wrote, “I feel so sorry for folks who don’t like to grow old. I revel in my years. They enrich me. If God should say to me, ‘I will let you begin over again and you may have your youth back once more,’ I should say, ‘If You do not mind, I prefer to go on growing old.’ I would not exchange the peace of mind, the abiding rest of soul, the measure of wisdom I have gained from the sweet and bitter and perplexing experiences of life. These are the best years of my life – the sweetest, and the most free from anxious care. The way grows brighter, the birds sing sweeter, the winds blow softer, the sun shines more radiantly than ever before …. My ‘outward man’ is perishing, but my ‘inward man’ is being joyously renewed day by day.”

 We’re all growing older, no matter what our age. So let’s honor God and rejoice in the good things that are ours. Then when we reach that golden plateau, we too will find it to be the best age. – Richard W. De Haan

 As sunset falls upon one’s life,

Its golden rays reveal

Those qualities of faith and love

The years have made so real. – D. J. De Haan

 Age is a matter of mind; if you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter.

  • July 2, 1990, Our Daily Bread
Leave a Reply

