No Boasting in Heaven (Ephesians 2:8-9)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ever since Adam sinned in the Garden of Eden, man has tried to formulate his own plan for making himself acceptable to God. He frantically sews together flimsy “fig-leaf religions” to cover his sinfulness. Worse, he boasts of his accomplishments thinking they will commend him to God.

A young preacher named John Nelson was talking to a rather self-righteous friend. The man exclaimed, “I do not need your Savior! I’m all right. I’ll take my chance on the life I’ve lived. I think God will not be too hard on me.“ Nelson answered this boasting by saying, “Friend, if you got to heaven, there would be discord. The song they sing in heaven is, “Worthy is the Lamb that was slain.’ If you got to heaven, you would be singing, “Worthy am I because my own good life fitted me for heaven.’ And an angel would throw you over the wall.”

Boasting is common in the world of politics, education, business, and man-made religion. But as redeemed sinners, we will have nothing to brag about in heaven. We will think only of the indescribable gift of God’s grace. We will praise Him because He alone delivered us and  “put a new song in [our] mouth” (Psalm 40:3). Yes, boasting will banished in heaven. – Paul R. Van Gorder.

On, how it give my soul a thrill

To know I’m saved by grace,

For by my works I would not see

My blessed Master’s face! – Anon.

On the road to heaven, we must observe the “No boasting” signs.

  • August 24, 1990, Our Daily Bread
Leave a Reply

