The Beauty of Silence (Psalm 62:1)

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 Written on the wall behind the pulpit of the church we attended in my teens were these words: “The Lord is in His holy temple. Let all the earth keep silence before Him” (Habakkuk 2:20). And keep silence we did! All eight of us boys said nothing to one another as we sat waiting for the service to being.

I loved this quiet time and often succeeded in pushing thoughts about girls and the Detroit Tigers out of my mind. The best I could, I tried to reflect on the wonder of God and His salvation. And in the silence I often sensed His presence.

Today we live in a noisy world. Many people can’t even drive without music blaring from their car, or the beat of the bass vibrating the vehicle. Even many church services are marked more by noise than by quiet reflection.

 In ancient times the pagans cried out in noisy frenzy to their idols (1 Kings 18:25-29). In sharp contrast, the psalmist saw the wisdom of silence, because in quiet reverence God can be heard. In the stillness of the night under a starry sky, in a hushed sanctuary, or in a quiet room at home, we can meet the living God and hear Him speak.

The psalmist’s words are relevant today: “Wait silently for God alone” (Psalm 62:5). – Herb Vander Lugt

 Speak, Lord, in the stillness,

While I wait on Thee;

Hushed my heart to listen

In expectancy. – Grimes

To hear God’s voice, turn down the world’s volume.

  • August 28, Vol. 12B, Our Daily Bread

Leave a comment