All-Time Protection (Psalm 121:7)

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A rather feisty old woman told one of my pastor friends, “I don’t need Christ in the daytime. When I’m awake, I can take care of myself. But I do pray at night when I am going to sleep. In fact, I’ve said bedtime prayers since I was a child.” Apparently that woman felt she was more than adequate to take care of herself when she was awake but could use divine help when she was asleep.

The writer of Psalm 121 recognized his need for God’s protecting mercy at all times. He portrayed the Lord watching over us during the light of day and the dark of night. He pictured God keeping us safe from dangers seen and unseen, at home and away, through time and eternity.

I often quote this psalm to people before they undergo surgery. God has seen most of them safely through the operation. Recently, however, three friends died on the operating table. Did God fail in His promise to protect them? Indeed not! He saw them safely into His presence, where He will care for them forever and ever.

Give thanks to God for watching over you all the days and nights of your life until now. Trust Him for your future. God protects us at all times, even when He decides to lead us home. – Herbert Vander Lugt

 My Father watches o’er me,

His eye is never dim;

At morn, at noon, at twilight

I safely trust in Him. – Adams

God never turns off His security system.

  • June 25, 1990, Our Daily Bread
Leave a Reply

