What Did I Forget? (Deuteronomy 8:11)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

How I wish I could forget the day I forgot my home address! It wasn’t the first time my memory had let me down. I’ve drawn embarrassing blanks on other things, such as telephone numbers and parking places. Then there were those most unforgettable – and regrettable – times I had to introduce friends and business associates but couldn’t come up with their names. Those occasions were a little more unsettling than going to the store and forgetting what I was supposed to buy when I got there. That happens often – though I can’t remember the last time.

We all have memory lapses now and then. But our Lord warned us about a memory problem that is far more serious than the embarrassing situations just described. In the 8th chapter of Deuteronomy, Moses repeatedly reminded the Israelites that by nature they were prone to forget God. He told them that when times got better they would not call to mind what the Lord had done for them when times were bad. He wanted to caution them that the luxury of prosperity could make it easy to forget how dependent they are on the Lord at all times. They needed to realize that without God’s willingness to provide them with strength they couldn’t even raise their food to their mouths.

Moses’ instruction also applies to our lives. We must keep remembering what God has done for us, praising Him for what He has given us, and thanking Him for His great forgiveness. But above all, the Lord Himself is One who is worth remembering just for who He is. – Martin R. De Haan II

Always remember to forget

The troubles that passed your way,

But never forget to remember

The blessings that come each day. – Anon.

Never the burdens of today cause you to forget the blessings of yesterday.

  • October 29, 1984, Our Daily Bread
Leave a Reply

