Real Security (Psalm 121:8)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One of my friends who had looked forward to receiving a substantial monthly benefit at retirement is now without a job. The company he worked for went bankrupt. Moreover, the retirement funds no longer exist. Suddenly the future for him and his wife is far less secure than he thought.

Another friend, a man with financial security who had anticipated a decade or more of happy retirement, terminally ill. The good years he was anticipating are not going to become a reality.

As I reflect upon these two people, I realize that in this world we have no absolute security about either our finances or our health. Our only complete security is in God. We who trust Him know Him to be almighty, for He “made heaven and earth (Psalm 121:2). We can be sure that He will never “slumber nor sleep (vv. 3-4). We have His promise that He keeps us day and night, through time and eternity (v. 8).

The two people I mentioned have told me they do not live in continual worry. They trust God. The sleep well. One of them said he takes the advice the advice of someone who told him, “God, who cares for me, never sleeps. I see no sense in both of us staying awake.” That’s real security! – Herbert Vander Lugt

My Father watches o’er me,

His eye is never dim;

At morn, at noon, at twilight

I safely trust in Him. – Adams

Our greatest need cannot exceed our greatest resource – God.

  • August 19, 1993, Our Daily Bread
Leave a Reply

