Glad to go to Church (Psalm 122:1)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For a time during my boyhood, the words of Psalm 122:1 inscribed on the wall of our church created mixed feelings within me. I liked meeting with friends at church and enjoyed the sense of God’s greatness and grandeur that I often felt. But I wasn’t particularly glad about going every time the doors were open. In those days the pastoral prayer was 20 minutes long, and the preachers tended to go down deep, stay down long, and come up quite dry. But today I am very thankful that I grew up in a home where regular church attendance was a must. This practice has made a deep impact on my life.

The psalmist said he was glad when he was invited to join a pilgrimage to the temple of Jerusalem. He thrilled to the feeling of oneness with believers from all 12 tribes of Israel. He was so filled with joy and love through his worship experience that he longed for the peace of Jerusalem and desired tranquility and abundant blessings for her citizens.

When we go to church for the right reason and with the right attitude, we give glory to God and receive instruction, comfort, and challenge. In addition, we encourage others and receive encouragement from them.

Make regular church attendance a habit. Go expecting to give and receive. As this practice becomes an integral part of your life, your faith will grow stronger and you’ll be a blessing. Soon you’ll find yourself saying, “I’m glad it’s time to go to church.” – Herbert Vander Lugt

Our week’s not complete till we make it our goal

To honor the Lord’s Day and nourish our soul;

The help that we need for the tasks that we face

Is ours if we worship and draw on God’s grace. – D. J. De Haan

Come to church for a faith lift.

  • May 29, 1988, Our Daily Bread