Cared for – But Careful (2 Corinthians 1:10-11)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The older I get, the more I marvel that I am still alive. I thought of this when a lady told me that one of her brothers had died from typhoid fever after drinking water out of a creek. I recall that as a youngster, imitating what I had read about pioneers and Indians, I drank from the creek that ran through our cow pasture. I also remember that during a polio epidemic I often put my head inside the oxygen tents to talk with and pray for dying people. Being somewhat clumsy, I’ve had a number of falls form barn rafters and roofs. And I’ve made some blunders as a driver. But I am still alive at age 68. God didn’t let typhoid fever, polio, accidents, or anything else take me from this world. I really believe that a child of God will not die until his work is done.

This confidence should not lead us to carelessness, however. We must never presume on God, thinking that He will protect us no matter what we do. It is possible, according to Ecclesiastes 7:17, for wicked and foolish people to die “before their time.” Paul lived confidently but he wasn’t foolhardy or reckless. He asked God’s people to pray for him. On one occasion he allowed friends to help him elude his enemies who tried to capture him in Damascus (2 Corinthians 11:32-33).

God cares for us! That gives us comfort and confidence. But we have a responsibility. We must be careful! The unmistakable message from Scripture to all of us is this: “You are cared for, but be careful! – Herbert Vander Lugt

The hand of God protects our way

Through danger and through ill,

So let us not presume on Him,

But seek to do His will. – D. J. De Haan

Be careful not to presume upon God’s care.

  • June 6, 1988, Our Daily Bread