Wounds (Galatians 6:17)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In Alan Paton’s novel, Ah, But Your Land Is Beautiful, Robert Mansfield, a white South African, resigns as headmaster of the Newcastle High School to protest his government’s racial policies. Emmanuel Nene, a black man who also opposes apartheid, visits Robert to encourage him. at one point Mr. Nene says, “When I go [to heaven], which is my intention, the Big Judge will say to me, ‘Where are your wounds?’ And if I say I haven’t any, He will say, ‘Was there nothing to fight for?’ I couldn’t face that question.”

The Bible doesn’t teach that at Christ’s judgment we will be asked to show our wounds. Our faithfulness will determine our reward or shame. But if we stand true to Jesus, we will be misunderstood, opposed, and possibly even rejected. We will be wounded.

Paul said he bore in his body “the marks of the Lord Jesus.” The word marks refers to brands that identify slaves and animals. Paul’s stoning, beating, and illnesses left scars that marked him as a faithful worker for Christ (2 Corinthians 11:25; 12:7; Galatians 4:13-14).

God doesn’t promise a trouble-free life in exchange for faithfulness. That comes later. Wounds come now. So don’t feel ashamed if your stand for Christ brings reproach. You are in good company. Jesus too was wounded for doing the Father’s will. – Dennis J. De Haan

Let the world despise and leave me,

They have left my Savior too;

Human hearts and looks deceive me –

Thou art not like man, untrue. – Lyte

Battle scars show that we are where the action is.

  • July 23, 1990, Our Daily Bread