How do You Get into Heaven?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This question will bring a variety of answers. A confusion of views is evident in the following sampling of opinions gathered for the Radio Bible Class program Sounds of the Times:

  • God wouldn’t send you to hell.” (New York)
  • I’ll cross the bridge when I get there.” (Boston)
  • You have to believe in God.” (Miami)
  • There is nothing I can do about it.” (New York)
  • I don’t dare say that I know I’m going.” (Los Angeles)
  • Keep the Ten Commandments.” (San Francisco)
  • Jesus gave His life for my salvation.” (Los Angeles)
  • I couldn’t care less.” (Boston)
  • Be a good person.” (Gainesville)
  • I feel I’d go to hell.” (San Francisco)

Can we know? Or is one idea as good as another? The Word of God tells us that we can have a definite answer. It’s the answer that focuses on Jesus Christ.

Acts 16:31 emphasizes, “Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ and you will be saved.

Ephesians 2:8-9 tells us, “For by grace you have been save through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God, not of works, lest anyone should boast.”

Jesus Christ announced that whoever believes in Him will “not perish but have everlasting life (John 3:16).

Romans 5:1 reminds us that we can be qualified for heaven by faith in Christ.

Whose opinion are you going to accept, man’s or God’s? If you are unsure of your eternal home, pause right now to acknowledge your sin before God, believe Christ paid the penalty for sin on your behalf, and accept His offer of forgiveness. If you have done that, then you have been born into God’s family. One day He will welcome you home. – Kurt E. De Haan

  • Our Daily Bread