Debt-Free Living (Romans 6:23)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Imagine a debt-free life – an existence without the irritation of those nagging payments hanging over your head every month.

It’s a prospect that has led financial counselors to create various get-out-of-debt plans that offer relief from financial worry. These are some of the suggestions they make:

  • Stop all buying on credit.
  • Cut down on your grocery bill.
  • Do things yourself instead of paying to have them done.
  • Quit being an impulse buyer.

Although I can say I’m debt-free (I’m paying off my house and have other bills due each month), I can testify that in a different and much more important sense, I have no debts. When it comes to the burdensome worry of how to get out from under the weight of my sin, I don’t have a care in the world.

At one time, I was under the sentence of death because of my sin, but when I put my faith in Jesus Christ my debt was paid off (Romans 4:7). The penalty of those sins was eliminated, and I am debt-free. It’s a great feeling!

Have you let God credit your account with Christ’s righteousness where sin’s penalty used to be? Accept Jesus payment for your sins and get out of debt! – J. David Branon

The moment that we trust it Christ

We are forgiv’n and cleansed within,

For all-sufficient is His blood

To pay the debt of every sin. – D. J. De Haan

Christ paid a debt He didn’t owe to satisfy a debt we couldn’t pay.

August 9, 1994