A Correctable Mind (Proverbs 9:8)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If your attitude toward being corrected is “Nobody’s going to tell me I’m sinning,” you probably fit the description of the “scoffer” in Proverbs 9:8. Anyone who tries to correct you will risk being hated by you. On the other hand, if you accept the correction of someone who rebukes you, you are “wise,” according to Proverbs 9:8, and you will love that person.

By nature, we don’t like to be told we have done wrong. I have had do resist feelings of anger and wounded pride on more than one occasion when someone pointed out to me that I was in the wrong. (You may have had a similar experience.) But later, I was glad I held those reactions in check and listened because what was said actually helped me.

Proverbs 9:12 says, “If you are wise, you are wise for yourself, and if you scoff, you will bear it alone.” During the years I was a pastor, I saw many confirmations of that truth as I lovingly and truthfully confronted people with their sin (Galatians 6:1). The wise who received correction reaped personal blessing. But those who scoff tended to harvest persona pain and grief.

Lord, I want to be a wise person. Give me a correctable mind. – Herbert Vander Lugt

He is a friend who tells the truth

Yet tempers it with love;

And he who takes the truth to heart

Gains wisdom from above. – D. J. De Haan

One proof of your love is how you handle reproof.

  • October 22, 1993, our Daily Bread