Impatience (1 Samuel 13:13)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Impatience can be costly. I still feel like kicking myself because of a couple of cars I bought on impulse. However, all I lost was money.

On another occasion I did something that could have cost me my front teeth. I had stopped my car for a red light. The instant the light turned green, the driver behind me started blowing his horn. I responded to his impatience by displaying my own impatience. I slowly opened my door, walked to the back of my car and inspected the tires. When he shouted at me to get moving, I said, “I’m sorry, I thought you were trying to tell me you saw something wrong with my car.” By the time I got back behind the wheel, the light was red again. The man was furious. His impatience had cost him a few extra minutes at the light.

King Saul’s impatience cost him far more than money. Because he offered an unauthorized sacrifice when he grew tired of waiting for Samuel, God took the kingship from him and his family forever.

I know I have made a few costly mistakes because of my impatience, and you probably have too. But we have no excuse for being irritable and impetuous with others. The fruit of the Spirit includes “longsuffering” and “self-control (Galatians 5:22-23). Let’s ask the Holy Spirit to help us develop these characteristics.  – Herbert Vander Lugt

PATIENCE POINTERS

  • Take a deep breath and relax.
  • Think about the other’s problem.
  • Do something useful while you wait.

Patience is a virtue that carries a lot of wait.

  • November 17, 1989, Our Daily Bread

Leave a comment