Halfhearted or Wholehearted? (1 John 1:9)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Did you read about the man whose guilty conscience prompted him to send a letter to the Internal Revenue Service? The note read, “I haven’t been able to sleep because last year when I filled out my income tax report, I deliberately misrepresented my income. I am enclosing a check for $150, and if I still sleep, I’ll send you the rest.

Now, it’s commendable that the man confessed his wrongdoing, but his halfhearted restitution showed the shallowness of his regret. His confession was prompted by his desire for personal peace, not by remorse for a moral transgression.

When we believe on Jesus Christ, we are declared righteous. The sins of our past, present, and future are forgiven. But because we are defiled by sin in our day-by-day walk, we need the daily cleansing of confession. This restores fellowship between us and our heavenly Father. But we must be genuine. We must come to Him with a sincere sorrow for our sins and an honest desire to forsake them.

There’s no question about it – when we confess our sins to the Lord and really mean it, He forgives. Remember, though, He not only hears our words but He also sees our hearts and reads our motives. That’s an awesome thought! Therefore, let’s be honest. Only when we are truly sorry that we sinned can we have the assurance that we have been restored to fellowship. – Richard W. De Haan

Lord, give me courage to confess,

To bare my sinful heart to Thee;

Thy full forgiveness I would know,

And from this weight of guilt be free. – D. J. De Haan

God has promised pardon to those who repent.

  • April 12, 1988, Our Daily Bread