How’s Your Memory? (Psalm 25:7)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As I get closer to life’s 60-year mile marker, I notice that my memory is both improving and slipping. This seems to be characteristic of this time in life. British author Malcolm Muggeridge had this paradox in mind when he wrote, “More often than not yesterday is obliterated. But I can recall exactly things that happened as long as 50 or 60 years ago.

An elderly Our Daily Bread reader viewed her improved memory of the earlier years of her life as an occasion to realize anew the joy of sins forgiven. She wrote, “I am 88 years old and have memories to prove it. I can recall past thoughts and actions, and how I have the opportunity to clear them with my Lord. It feels so good to know I’m forgiven.

As believers in Christ, we can be confident that all our sins have been removed from the record by His death on the cross for us. But when sins of the past come to mind and bother us, as they apparently disturbed king David (Psalm 25), we can talk to the Lord about them. We can make restitution if possible, and we can reaffirm our confidence in God’s great mercy, love and unconditional acceptance of us.

Our memories – whether those brought to mind during our later years or those triggered by a crisis – can help us to renew our first love for the Lord.Dennis J. De Haan

The vain regrets of yesterday

Have vanished through God’s pardoning grace;

The guilty fear has passed away,

And joy has come to take its place. – Ackley

When you remember your sins, remember your sin-bearer.

  • August 25, 1992, Our Daily Bread

Leave a comment