Running From Sin (Proverbs 4:14-15)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The story is told of a young girl who accepted Christ as her Savior and applied for membership in a local church. “Were you a sinner before you received the Lord Jesus into your life?” inquired an old deacon. “Yes, sir,” she replied. “Well, are you still a sinner?” “To tell you the truth, I feel I’m a greater sinner than ever.” “Then what real change have you experienced?” “I don’t quite know how to explain it,” she said, “except I used to be a sinner running after sin, but now that I am saved I’m a sinner running from sin!” She was received into the fellowship of the church, and she proved by her consistent life that she was truly converted.

Our attitude toward sin is a pretty good indicator of our spiritual vitality. If we take sin lightly, we might well question the genuineness of our relationship to Christ. As believers, we must determine with His help to shun anything that might make us stumble or could lead us into a state of spiritual defeat. In his commentary on Proverbs 4, Matthew Henry compared sin to a highly contagious disease. He wrote: “Venture not into the company of those that are infected with this plague, no, not even if you think yourself guarded with the antidote of grace.

Believer, remember the words of the writer of Proverbs, who admonished , “… do not walk in the way of evil. Avoid it, do not travel on it; turn away from it and pass on.

Don’t take sin lightly! Run from it!Henry G. Bosch

When I’m tempted to do wrong,

Make me steadfast, wise, and strong;

Lord, when all alone I stand,

Shield me with Your mighty hand. – Hopps

Believers are not sinless, but they should sin less.

  • June 12, 1987, Our Daily Bread