Someday We’ll Understand (John 13:7)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Children often have a hard time understanding why parents do certain things. For instance, I remember as a youth I wanted a pair of skis as a Christmas gift from my parents. When the presents were opened, I got a trumpet instead. Although I was pleased with it, I wondered why my parents would give me a musical instrument rather than the skis I had asked for. As the years passed, I began to realize that my parents knew best. They recognized that it was much more important for me to develop my musical ability, which I could use in God’s service, than to improve my skill in skiing.

Similarly, Peter had difficulty understanding why Jesus began to wash the disciples’ feet. He thought it should have been the other around; they should wash their Master’s feet. Peter failed to see the importance of letting Jesus do this to teach them an unforgettable lesson. Therefore, Jesus reminded him, “What I am doing you do not understand now, but you will know after this.

How often we question our heavenly Father! We wonder why He allows certain things to happen. We become so concerned about the “why” of His dealings that we forget about His gracious purposes in our lives. Remember, though, He sees our need, and He knows the way we should take. In faith we can look beyond our circumstances and be sure that God is behind them. His eternal purposes for us are always better than anything we might desire, and someday we will understand.Paul R. Van Gorder

There’s a path His love is planning.

Which must mean the best for you;

There are blessings, countless blessings

Which are hidden now from view. – Chambers

Don’t be afraid to trust an unknown future to an all-knowing God.

  • June 17, 1988, Our Daily Bread